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Can an owner of a license (i.e., Brewery) manage a
different license type (i.e., Retail)?

The Department receives questions regarding who can manage other
license types. It all depends on what licenses they own and what
licenses they want to manage.

Owner of a Retail License
Allowed:
¢ May manage a retail license.

Not Allowed:
e May not manage a manufacturer license.
e May not manage a wholesaler/distributor license.
e May not manage an agency liquor store.

Owner of a Manufacturer License
Allowed:
e May manage another manufacturer license.
e May manage a retail license. This may be considered a means to induce according to "Tied-
House" provisions in federal law but is not prohibited by Montana law.
e May manage an agency liquor store. This may be considered a means to induce according to
"Tied-House" provisions in federal law but is not prohibited by Montana law.
Not Allowed:
e May not manage a wholesaler/distributor license.

Owner of a Wholesale/Distributor License
Allowed:
e May manage a wholesale/distributor license.
e May manage an agency liquor store.
o However, keep in mind that this may be considered a means to induce according to “Tied-
House" provisions in federal law, but is not prohibited by Montana law.
Not Allowed:
e May not manage a retail license.
e May not manage a manufacturer license.

All licensees must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules.
SECTIONS 16-4-401, MCA and ARM 42.12.143 & 42.12.106. 27 CFR § 6 Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR), Tied-
House

See HB305 for more information.
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https://www.leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0160/chapter_0040/part_0040/section_0010/0160-0040-0040-0010.html
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E12%2E143
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=42%2E12%2E106
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-6
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/2023/billpdf/HB0305.pdf
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8.2023 Please note that the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded, or
made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to verify the
current validity of this fact sheet or have any questions, please contact us at DORABCD-O&E@mt.gov.
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