Location Manager Guide



All Montana on-premises retailers, off-premises retailers, manufacturers, beer wholesalers, and table wine distributors shall designate at least one location manager.

Location managers are responsible for providing general oversight and ensuring compliance with alcoholic beverage laws and rules. Within 30 days of an employee beginning location manager duties, the Licensee must submit:

- Location Manager Application Form (Form 30A)
- Personal/Criminal History Statement (Form 10)
- Two sets of fingerprint cards
- \$30 fingerprint processing fee

How to avoid common mistakes

Incomplete Applications: Personal History Statements, fingerprint cards, and payments must also be turned in with Form 30A.

"Probationary" Employees: Regardless of whether an employee is on a probationary period, anyone functioning as a location manager must be reported.

Employees in a training program: Licensees do not have to disclose someone they are considering hiring or training to be a location manager. Once their location manager duties begin, the licensee has 30 days to disclose the individual to the department.

Multiple Location Managers: As long as another approved location manager remains with the licensee, the 30-day deadline does not apply to the removal of location managers or the addition of owners as location managers. In those cases, instead of a 30-day deadline, the changes do not have to be reported until the end of the fiscal year on the renewal form (during the license renewal process).

Qualification Issues: Location managers are held to the same suitability standards as licensees. Licensees should be aware of an individual's prior financial activities or criminal record that might render the employee unsuitable for the responsibility of alcoholic beverage law compliance.

All licensees must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules. SECTIONS <u>16-4-414</u>, MCA and ARM <u>42.12.132</u>

12.2022 Please note that the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded, or made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to verify the current validity of this fact sheet or have any questions, please contact us at DORABCD-O&E@mt.gov.

Scan QR code for more fact sheets