## Continuing Care Retirement Community (CCRC) License



## **Basics**

- Not a quota license.
- Non-transferrable.
- \$500 original license fee.
- \$400 application processing fee.
- \$500 annual renewal fee.
- Servers must be 18 years of age or older and have current server training.
- The CCRC must be a residential facility on one campus, under the same operator, that:
  - o Is licensed by the Department of Health and Human Services.
  - o Provides an independent living option along with a graduated level of care.
  - o Provides a central dining area.

Apply by filling out Form 5 (Alcoholic Beverage–Gambling Operator Combined On-Premises License Application), available at MTRevenue.gov. An online application is available in our TransAction Portal at <a href="https://tap.dor.mt.gov">https://tap.dor.mt.gov</a>

## Allowed

- Serving hours are between 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.
- Only residents and guests of the residents may purchase alcohol for on-premises consumption.
- A guest must be the nonresident spouse of the resident of the CCRC; or
- A guest invited by the resident.
- Residents may have and consume alcoholic beverages purchased elsewhere in residential areas. For example, buying a bottle of wine from a grocery store to drink at their residence.
- Alcoholic beverages are served or purchased from the central dining area for onpremises consumption.
- "On-premises consumption" means drinking within the confines of the CCRC campus (specified on the floor plan submitted to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division).
- Live bingo, keno, raffles, and heads or tails under Title 23, Chapter 5, part 4.

## **Not Allowed**

- Gambling under Title 23, Chapter 5, parts 3 (card games), 5 (sports pools), or 6 (video gaming machines).
- Catering.
- Concession agreements.
- Off-premises sales.
- Consumption or possession of alcoholic beverages in the central dining area, that were not purchased at the CCRC. For Example, a resident may not bring in a bottle of wine they bought at a grocery store and have the CCRC servers uncork and serve them.

All licensees must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules. SECTIONS 16-4-315, MCA and ARM 42.12.151

<u>4.2024</u> Please note that the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded, or made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to verify the current validity of this fact sheet or have any questions, please contact us at <u>DORABCD-O&E@mt.gov</u>.

Scan QR code for more fact sheets

