

Delivery of Beer and Wine Off-Site with Food

Beer and wine in original packaging may be delivered by certain on-premises licensed alcoholic beverage establishments with food prepared by the licensee.

Licensees allowed to deliver beer and wine with food:

- Entities licensed under <u>16-4-105</u>, MCA (On-premises beer/wine licenses).
- Entities licensed under <u>16-4-201</u>, MCA (On-premises all-beverage licenses).
- Entities licensed under <u>16-4-420</u>, MCA (Restaurant beer and wine licenses).

Excludes the Following:

- Off-premises licenses
- Airport all-beverages licenses
- Golf course beer/wine licenses
- Resort (no delivery outside the resort area) licenses
- Nonprofit arts licenses
- Yellowstone airport beer/wine licenses
- Montana heritage licenses
- Continuing care retirement center licenses
- 3rd party delivery services

Requirements:

- Licensee must apply and get approval for an alcohol delivery endorsement.
- Delivery may only occur by the licensee or licensee's employees who are:
 - 21 years of age or older and server trained. Licensees may not use 3rd party delivery services to deliver alcohol (such as Uber Eats, Grubhub, Door Dash, etc.).
- Beer and wine must be in original packaging. Liquor delivery is not allowed.
- The delivery must include food prepared by the licensee.
- The purchase price of the delivered beer and wine may not exceed the purchase price of the delivered food items.
- Licensee must verify purchaser is 21 years of age or older and not intoxicated.

The process to get approval for a delivery endorsement:

- You may only apply online through TAP:
 - Log into your TAP account.
 - o Select the on-premises license you want to add the delivery endorsement to.
 - Select "More" on the right.
 - Select in Account Options "Request Changes to Account".
 - o Check "Add/Remove Alcohol Delivery Endorsement"
 - Follow the prompts for information and payment.
- Do not begin delivering alcohol until the department approval has been granted and the new license has been printed indicating approval to do so.

All licensees must comply with all Federal and Montana alcoholic beverage laws and rules. SECTIONS <u>16-4-105</u>, <u>16-4-201</u>, <u>16-3-311</u>, <u>16-4-213</u>, <u>16-4-420</u>, MCA , ARM <u>42.12.301</u>, <u>42.13.1102</u>, <u>42.13.1103</u>, and <u>42.13.1105</u>,

<u>4.2024</u> Please note the information in department communications may have been modified, superseded, or made obsolete by changes in federal or state law or the Administrative Rules of Montana. If you need to verify the current validity of this fact sheet or have any questions, please contact us at <u>DORABCD-O&E@mt.gov</u>.



Scan QR code for more fact sheets